Mind-mapping GIS

It’s been more than a month since I joined an MSc program and overall, it has been great. One of our tasks include creating a mind-map of our perception of GIS from what we have learned so far. Below is my contribution.

SRI-GIS-MindMap-2

You may click on the image to view it larger. Feel free to leave a comment. 🙂

10 responses to “Mind-mapping GIS”

  1. Gurudatta says :

    Dear Sorbi,

    Its a beautiful mapping and flow is really interesting. I liked the way you have interpreted the Trends and Issues, this was something i missed in my map.

    Best Regards,
    Gurudatta.

  2. Harendrasinh says :

    Very Nice….

  3. manishininmar2015 says :

    Dear Sorbi
    First and foremost, I want to appreciate the visual style of presenting the map. Which software did you use for this? I am wondering if all the nodes under ‘Technological tool’ are really self explanatory. I feel the clustering can be improved. You have really captured numerous elements but maybe some more grouping will help make the map sharper. As Gurudatta mentioned, I too didn’t think of explaining the trends in GIS.
    In spite of these minor issues, this is one impressive mind map! 
    Best
    Manish

    • Sorbs says :

      Hi Manish! I used Coggle (https://coggle.it/) to create this mindmap. It’s quite easy to use and free! I understand by what you meant by improving the clustering/grouping. On the ‘tech tool’, I agree that I could have expounded on it more. Thank you for these comments! Cheers!

  4. kampar says :

    Reblogged this on Dosen GIS.

  5. Fitz says :

    Hi Sorbs! Just saw yours. This is an elegant looking map, I should say. I like the way you group the topics and sub-topics. It’s really like an expansion of what GIS is. Good job!

  6. Juan Jose Rodriguez says :

    Hi Sorbs,

    Is a big contribution to understand quickly the GIS ecosystem especially to researchers . I’m starting to make a master on computer science focus on geo and this will help me a lot. In the next weeks we’re working on mind map on computational challenges of GEO/GIS and definitely I’ll back here to send you a mind map that maybe can help you.

    Good job and thanks again

Leave a Reply

